Home > Issues & Alerts > Legislative Alerts > Tax Alert 7/1/03: $20 Million Tax on Cable/Satellite!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Our Site Only
  
Entire Web

 

Site Index

 

 

 

Tax Alert 7/1/03:
$20 Million Tax on Cable/Satellite!


Summary: Look at your next cable or satellite bill and savor the precious moment of a $20 million tax increase! Then take a moment to thank the Utah legislators below who made it all possible.

Topics:

1. SB 213: Passed by Republicans, Opposed by Democrats!

2. Senators to Thank.

3. Representatives to Thank.

4. Don't Forget Governor Leavitt!

5. Freak of Nature or Regular Trend?

1. SB 213: Passed by Republicans, Opposed by Democrats!

Senate Bill 213, Substitute 3, represents a nearly $20 million state and local sales tax increase on satellite and cable TV subscriptions. SB 213 passed the senate (20-9-0), the house (39-32-4), and was signed by the governor on March 24, 2003.

Consider a few party facts: Only two Republican senators voted against the tax increase.  On the other hand, not one Democrat senator voted for the tax increase.  In the house, only five Democrats voted for the bill and only 20 Republicans voted against the bill.

 

Top

 

2. Senators to Thank.

The following senators voted for the $20 million tax increase:

#  Name Party E-mail  Office   Home   Fax
1 James Evans R jevans@utahsenate.org      801-322-3452   
8 Carlene Walker R  cwalker@utahsenate.org      801-733-4599   
9 Alma "Al" Mansell R  amansell@utahsenate.org  801-563-7600 801-942-6019 801-563-7847
10 D. Chris Buttars R  dbuttars@utahsenate.org  801-280-2697 801-561-0535   
13 Bill Wright R  bwright@utahsenate.org      801-667-3333   
14 John Valentine R  jvalentine@utahsenate.org  801-373-6345 801-224-1693   
15 Parley Hellewell R  phellewell@utahsenate.org
 parleyh@attbi.com 
801-226-3033 801-226-3034   
16 Curtis Bramble R  cbramble@utahsenate.org
 cbramble@cesinc.com 
    801-226-3663   
17 Peter Knudson R  pknudson@utahsenate.org  435-723-6366 435-723-2035   
18 Dave Thomas R  dthomas@utahsenate.org
 dthomas@co.summit.ut.us 
435-336-3206 801-479-7479   
19 Dave Gladwell R  dgladwell@utahsenate.org  801-927-1110 801-782-4130   
20 Scott Jenkins R  sjenkins@utahsenate.org  801-621-5412 801-731-5120   
22 Gregory Bell R  gbell@utahsenate.org  801-971-2001        
23 Dan Eastman R  deastman@utahsenate.org  801-292-8041  801-295-5133    
24 Leonard Blackham R  lblackham@utahsenate.org  435-436-8125  435-436-8489    
25 Lyle Hillyard R  lhillyard@utahsenate.org
 lhillyard@hao-law.com 
435-752-2610  435-753-0043    
26 Beverly Evans R  bevans@utahsenate.org
 bevevans@ubtanet.com 
435-722-2294  435-454-3719  435-454-3072
28 Thomas Hatch R  thatch@utahsenate.org  435-676-8808  435-676-2214    
29 John "Bill" Hickman R  jhickman@utahsenate.org  435-674-5200  435-673-2671   

If you can't reach them at home, try:

319 State Capitol, Salt Lake City, UT 84114
Phone: 801-538-1035
Toll-free: 866-759-5851
Republican main fax: 801-538-1414
Democrat main fax: 801-538-1449
Additional Contact Information

 

Top

 

3. Representatives to Thank.

The following representatives voted for the $20 million tax increase:

#  Name Party E-mail  Office   Home   Fax
2 Ben Ferry R Bcferry@utah.gov 435-744-2997   435-744-2999
3 Craig Buttars R Cbuttars@utah.gov 435-258-5015   435-258-2559
5 Curt Webb R cwebb@utah.gov      
11 Brad Dee R Bdee@utah.gov         
12 D. Gregg Buxton R Dgreggbuxton@utah.gov          
13 Dana Love R Danalove@utah.gov 801-774-0624      
14 Don Bush R Dbush@utah.gov 801-825-3210   801-825-3210
16 J. Stuart Adams R Stuartadams@utah.gov          
17 Marda Dillree R Mdillree@utah.gov 801-451-2773   801-451-6116
18 Roger Barrus R Rogerbarrus@utah.gov 801-292-7988     
19 Sheryl Allen R Sherylallen@utah.gov 801-451-2773   801-451-6116
20 Ann Hardy R Awhardy@utah.gov          
23 Duane Bourdeaux D Dbourdeaux@utah.gov 801-596-8784   801-596-9085
27 John Dougall R Jdougall@utah.gov          
31 Ty McCartney D Tymccartney@utah.gov 801-466-3558     
32 Ron Bigelow R Ronbigelow@utah.gov 801-969-8920   801-955-5143
37 Carol Spackman Moss D Csmoss@utah.gov 801-272-6507     
40 Patricia Jones D Patjones@utah.gov 801-278-7667   801-322-5725
41 Todd Kiser R Toddkiser@utah.gov          
42 Peggy Wallace R Pwallace@utah.gov 801-233-9041     
46 Karen Morgan D Karenmorgan@utah.gov 801-943-0067   801-943-9614
48 F. LaVar Christensen R Lavarchristensen@utah.gov 801-572-2325   801-572-9347
49 Greg Curtis R Gcurtis@utah.gov 801-943-3091     
52 David Hogue R Dhogue@utah.gov 801-254-1668   801-253-756
53 David Ure R Dure@utah.gov 435-783-4650   435-783-4650 
54 Gordon Snow R Gsnow@utah.gov 435-722-4162     
55 Jack Seitz R Jseitz@utah.gov 435-789-0650   435-789-1551 
56 Dave Cox R dncox@utah.gov 801-768-8759   801-768-8759 
57 Bradley Winn R Bwinn@utah.gov 801-319-4471   801-226-5207 
62 Jeff Alexander R Jalexander@utah.gov 801-375-1092   801-852-225 
63 Stephen Clark R Sclark@utah.gov 801-374-6927   801-375-1271 
64 Rebecca Lockhart R Blockhart@utah.gov 801-377-7428     
65 Calvin Bird R Calvinbird@utah.gov          
67 Darin Peterson R Dpeterson@utah.gov 435-623-2271     
68 Michael Styler R Mstyler@utah.gov 435-864-3077   435-864-5660
70 Bradley Johnson R Bradjohnson@utah.gov 435-529-3227   435-529-7444
71 Bradley Last D Blast@utah.gov         
72 DeMar "Bud" Bowman R Bbowman@utah.gov 435-586-8174   435-586-8174
73 Michael Noel R Mikenoel@utah.gov          
74 David Clark R Dclark@utah.gov 435-628-5108   435-628-0178
75 Stephen Urquhart R Surquhart@utah.gov 435-673-4424      

If you can't reach them at home, try:

318 State Capitol, Salt Lake City, UT 84114
Phone: 801-538-1029
Toll-free: 800-662-3367
Republican main fax: 801-538-1908
Democrat main fax: 801-538-9505
Additional contact information

 

Top

 

4. Don't Forget Governor Leavitt

New taxes just wouldn't be the same without Governor Leavitt.  He needs your special thanks as well:
Governor Mike Leavitt
210 State Capitol, Salt Lake City, UT 84114
Phone: 801-538-1000
Toll-free: 800-705-2464
Fax: 801-538-1528
E-mail: governor@state.ut.us

 

Top

 

5. Freak of Nature or Regular Trend?

Is SB 213 a weird freak of nature?  Can the Utah Republican party really be as bad or worse than the Utah Democrat party on tax issues?

We took a look at how Democrat and Republican legislators stacked up against each other with regard to four major tax bills in the last legislative session.  See our chart, The Tax & Spend Party: We're All Invited.
(In .pdf format.
You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader.)

 

Top

 


If you have comments or suggestions, please email us at info@accountabilityutah.org.

 

Home | Issues & Alerts | Mission | AU Team | Reports | Citizen Library | Other Resources

Address: P.O. Box 141, West Jordan, Utah 84084
E-mail:
info@accountabilityutah.org  |  Website: www.accountabilityutah.org

Copyright 2003 Accountability Utah